top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJecyl Guelos

My Journey

Updated: May 28, 2020

I was born and raise in a small town of Zarraga in Iloilo City, 400 miles away from the Metro. Being a normal “probinsyana” that have many doubts and fears in competing in applying for work I think is a common fear for us. Not knowing how to answer the face to face interview even we practice it for so many times and does some mock interview in college before graduation. I remember sending resumes for 5 to 8 companies a day, hoping to land a job, start saving and be able to help my parents in sending my younger siblings to college. Months of sending resume's and series of interview pay off, after 3 months I finally land a job in a Travel Agency 2 hours away from home. With mixed emotions finally begin to process my papers as part of the company requirements and eventually hit me that I will become a part of a corporate world.


After a week I've been able to complete and submit the needed papers and have a joining date. I clearly remember my first day of work I was late because of the heavy rain that caused heavy traffic and floods in some of the area (BTW that time I live in Mandaluyong and my work is in Paranaque :-D ). I arrive at the office soaking wet from my hips below haha during that time I was so afraid that my boss might scold me but luckily she is very understandable and considerate. I really enjoy working and I haven't realize that months have past and even a year, the distant officemate became a close friend and even a travel buddy. But as they say we need to make a big move and try things outside our comfort zone to be able to experience new things. I applied in a bigger company which is not that easy but I succeed and being connected until now. Being in the corporate word that works 9 AM – 6 PM from Monday to Friday and sometimes even on Saturday and being in the streets for 3 to 4 hours a day because of traffic and commuting is sometimes frustrating. It took me sometime to realize that my commuting hours consumes a lot of time which I could spend in some other productive way.


That's the time that I decided and gather my courage and moved out in my Aunts place (by the way my parents is living Iloilo) and look to an apartment near my work place and luckily found one. At first my aunt and my parents is hesitant with my decision but eventually give me their blessings in my decision. Being able to live alone and without commuting for 2 to 3 hours made me realize that I can do a lot of activities like cooking, doing my laundry, cleaning and rest in full 7 or 8 hours a day. Even my siblings after their graduation also moved to my place.


In my journey I was able to achieve some small steps that eventually help me achieve my bigger goals in life. Do not be afraid and hesitant to try new things, learn new skills, to open or knocks on the bigger doors of opportunity. There may be times that the result is not according to our plans but don't loose hope, pray and ask for guidance and eventually it will fall into places. Always remember that small steps matter :)





9 views0 comments
bottom of page